Antony Walker

artistic director and conductor

Maestro Walker is Artistic Director and Conductor of Washington Concert Opera, Music Director of Pittsburgh Opera, and Artistic Director of Pinchgut Opera in his native Sydney, Australia. He made his debut with the Metropolitan Opera in 2011 with Orfeo ed Euridice and recently conducted Rossini's The Barber of Seville and two exciting performances of Bizet's Les pêcheurs de Perles at the company, and returns in March for the National Council Auditions Grand Finals Concert.

Other recent conducting appearances include Opera Australia (Carmen, Falstaff), Washington National Opera (Dialogues of the Carmelites), English National Opera (The Tales of Hoffmann, in a new production by Richard Jones), Pittsburgh Opera (Nabucco, Così, Carmen, Fille du Régiment, Otello, La bohème, Philip Glass' Orphée, Aida, Turandot, Tosca, Abduction from the Seraglio, Rigoletto and Don Giovanni), Washington Concert Opera (Semiramide, Guntram, I Capuleti e i Montecchi, Il corsaro, I masnadieri, Werther, Samson et Dalila, and La sonnambula), West Australian Opera (Le nozze di Figaro), Santa Fe Opera (Madama Butterfly), Canadian Opera Company (Maria Stuarda), Wolf Trap Opera (Giulio Cesare), and Gluck's Iphigénie en Tauride with Pinchgut Opera. 

He has conducted performances with New York City Opera (where he received a Debut Artist award), Opera Theatre of St. Louis, Welsh National Opera, Bologna's Teatro Comunale, among others.  His orchestral appearances include the Sydney Symphony, Melbourne Symphony, Paris's Orchestre Colonne, BBC National Orchestra of Wales as well as appearances at festivals in the U.S. and abroad. Upcoming performances include Metropolitan Opera National Council Grand Finals concert at Lincoln Center, The Rake's Progress with Pittsburgh Opera, as well as the Australian premiere of Haydn's Armida for Pinchgut Opera in Sydney.

  Caryn Kerstetter Reeves    Executive Director

Caryn Kerstetter Reeves

Executive Director

   Nathan Perriello     Operations Manager

Nathan Perriello

Operations Manager

Board of Directors


Melissa Rhea


Alexander D. Crary
Barbara M. Rossotti


Dotty Wexler


Kenneth G. Hance, Jr.

Wendy W. Makins
Dr. Steven F. Mazer
Dottie Schmidt
Mitchell Schneider
Jacquelyn Sheehan
Stephanie Van Reigersberg
Jenonne Walker
Dr. Catherine Wethington


Michele Bartoli Cain
Harlow Case
Barbara B. Downs
Diana Dykstra
Barbara Finkelstein
Douglas E. Gill
Charlotte Gollobin
Michael Higgins
Margaret C. Jones*
Dr. Barry Kaplan


    *denotes ex-officio